like grits

like grits, like cornbread, i take donny hathaway for granted. part of my ’70’s childhood, close to my hip, always there when i need it – but i’m a grown-up now, right? and i’ve moved on to tenzaru soba and coconut curries and turkey burgers on sourdough bread.

but donny hathaway, and george duke with stanley clarke, and patti and quincy and brooke benton and ahmad jamal – that’s my cornbread, my greens, my mac and cheese. i can’t deny it, and i don’t care to – i just realize it’s been a while since i said “thank you.” since i acknowledged what that music has done for me.

it made me believe that someday, we’d all be free.

Leave a Reply

